Joy


I read an article that really hit home. (I know, I know I am always reading. It’s my thing. I love it). Anyway, the article basically said that the mother was stealing her own joy. How does one steal their own joy? 

She was letting herself get weighed down by anger, pettiness, and pity. She would get frustrated with her children or husband and ruin her own day. 

Guys, I was reading this article and thinking, “it is like she wrote this FOR me.” How many minutes, hours, days have been wasted by holding onto anger or disappointment? I can tell you for sure that it is not pretty.

Yesterday, was one of those days for me. I was disappointed because we had to cancel a trip that we had been planning to take to Florida. The timing just isn’t working out and we will have to go some other time. And, let me tell you I had some BIG emotions about it. I cried and sulked. I was so mad about it. 

The saddest part though is that I spent a Sunday holding onto the negative when I could have been enjoying a day with my family. Why do we steal our own joy? Why is it so hard to let go of the “bad” when all it does is make us sad? I’m not sure.

Today, I have been blessed with a new day. Sophia and I are munching on apples and dancing to The Fresh Beat Band. We read books in bed this morning and snuggled together. This, my friends, is joy. It is joy in the simplest form. We laughed and hugged. I remembered that BIG emotions are okay, but we all have to move on because we could miss the next awesome thing to come along. 

 Xo

Aly

Leave a Reply

