Working From Home


A few days ago I made breakfast, changed diapers, cleaned and re-cleaned the kitchen, folded a load of laundry, put the baby down for a nap, made phone calls, answered emails, wrote out a grocery list, and all before noon. I never realized the amount of work it takes to be a stay-at-home parent especially one that works from home.

I’ve mentioned before that I am a freelancer. Most often I edit resumes for working professionals who are hoping to gain new or better employment. I also do editing for articles, blogs, and academic papers. I also write articles here and there. I follow a ton of creative freelance job boards, but I hesitate to apply to some of the full-time opportunities to work at home because it takes away from my flexibility as the stay-at-home caregiver.

Does anyone else feel that it’s hard to find a work-life-responsibilities-balance?  I want to stay home with my kids, take them to the park, plan fun activities with them while they are young and not in school full-time. I have been blessed to be able to stay at home for three years with Sophia and now Max too. Most often this leaves me wanting to ignore chores, meal planning and preparing, and “adult” stuff. I manage it all okay though. I put on my Responsible Adult with Great Organizing Skills hat and get it done with the help of my husband, Richie. My husband works his ass off to provide a secure, stable home for all of us. He also makes time to spend with our children playing and laughing. I know he struggles with also finding time for his “passions” that are beyond just “work”…

I guess my struggle now is putting more effort into my “work” portion. Writing/Editing/Creating is not just a money making effort to me. I love my freelance opportunities. I am happy to work, to edit, to write, and to share my passion with others. Somehow, it is this portion of my life that I put on the back burner. Working in Marketing taught me that you have to put in effort to gain success. There were promotions to be done, social media accounts to update,  and contacts to network with in order to get your business out there. Why don’t I work hard to promote my services, write my articles/blog, and perfect my craft? I’m not sure. It’s easy to pour your heart into being a parent and a “responsible” adult. Is it enough though?

It’s funny that I came across an article on Romper that was titled “I Work From Home, & Honestly, I Work Harder than Other Working Moms”. Now, first off I know that the title is supposed to be attention-grabbing, but it was slightly off-putting to me. In my personal experience, I don’t have it “harder” than other working moms because I don’t have to leave my house. One thing I can agree with in this article is that it is HARD to work from home with tiny people running around at your feet. But,  maybe that is just my excuse. Anything worth doing is hard, so why put it off? I guess I’m looking for accountability and support from my online community here.

I appreciate all of your comments, your likes, your follows, and your shares. Makes me believe that my writing is important too.

Leave a Reply

