A Month Ago


A month ago I was feeling pretty good. Rocking this homeowner thing, planning for our 6th anniversary. I had lost 10 lbs and was really practicing some good habits. I felt like I had a pretty good handle on adulting.

Then, three weeks ago my great Uncle Sal passed away. It was unexpected although he was 92. He lived a great life, full of love and laughter.

I think we all feared that the news would be too much for my dear great grammy. That was her last living sibling and the baby of the family. She made it through his funeral, but had a stroke a few days later. She passed away at home with her family March 29, 2017.

Another extended family member, Viviene,  mother of our cousin Dan also passed away. It seems unfair to lose so many dear to us in such a short time. Although, the world tells me often that life is not fair.

Since then, I have felt like we have been swirling around in some Wizard of Oz-esqueezes cyclone. Not knowing where we will land and how we will be once we get there. I’m exhausted and have succumbed to a summer cold. Well a spring cold, but it’s still pretty rough. The kids are fighting it the best they can, but I think my body is telling me I have to rest. And then I have to get out of the cyclone. It’s hard to face life’s challenges. They aren’t really “unfair.” Just tough to tackle. There is so much that I want to do, but I am struggling to focus.

A month ago, I was feeling pretty good. Now, I just feel tired. I’ve written a poem in honor of my Gram. My Aunt Cindy had hoped we could write one for the funeral, but I didn’t have words until now. Love you, Cinny.

A Rose Amongst Thorns

Sweet Grammy would light up when I brought the babies around to see her.

She would hug and kiss them with unadulterated joy, playing patticake and tea party and letting Sophia brush and brush her soft white hair.

Grammy always offer candy even if you said no the first three times because everyone could use a bit of chocolate. She always had one with you so you didn’t have to feel bad for eating a candy by yourself.

Grammy fed our souls with joy. With her devotion to her faith and her family she warmed our hearts. She fed our bellies with food even putting her own plate in front of us to make sure we ate.

She laughed and had a great sense of humor. She could tease you with a straight face and you couldn’t belive your ears until she cracked a little smile. She could beat you at cards, but sometimes she would let you win.

Grammy always asked how you were and really meant it. She cared so deeply about those around her. She was kind.

She was truly the best of us.

One thought on “A Month Ago

  1. Johnnie Gemmell says:

    A wonderfull women yes she is! and allways made me smile. I enjoyed many Thanks-Giving’s with her and just this last, Thanks-Giving, I felt like a King sitting right next to her, at the shore with that Great Family that they were part of creating just to the left of her and Uncle Sal Celebrating the like 75th annual event that this Family would do every year at the Shore House
    and I am Thankfull for the memories that I will share with mine in the future.

Leave a Reply

