Writing Begets Writing


So I haven’t written much in the last six months. I seem to go in small spurts of writing every day to not writing at all. It’s one of those simple matters of letting life get in the way. I try not to do that, but it happens anyway.

I’ve noticed that the more I push myself to write (even if its just a blog post here and there), the  more I want to write. Writing is as much a part of me as being a wife and mother are. The words are all floating around inside my soul waiting to be written out. I have honestly felt more relaxed and happy than I have in months when I carve out some time to write each day.

Today was awesome because I was able to put some of my creative writing/editing skills into action. A friend of mine from back in the day (which, is a Wednesday, by the way) reached out to me over social media to see if I could do some editing for his new company blog. Viola, I am a productive member of society today! If it’s possible sometimes I forget how much I love writing and editing. As if the 4 years in undergrad and the 2 plus years in graduate school weren’t enough to tell me that writing is my passion, it’s like my brain just forgets. Then it all comes back to me, my passion (along with being a wife and mother) is to write. As easily as breathing, here come the words, the inspiration, the life force.

Sometimes we all need to be reminded of what we love. Especially those of us with pregnancy brain!

❤ Aly

PS My husband reminds me every day that I should be doing more writing, but sometimes I get distracted by his handsome face and lumberjack beard and forget what he’s saying 😉 love you bug.

Leave a Reply

