The Missing Piece


When I was in school, rather when I was taking class for my MA I was always writing. I wrote short stories, I wrote blogs, I wrote marketing plans, I wrote essays…it was part of the job I guess. Studying to be a better writer forced me to actually be a writer. Imagine that?

In the six months since I graduated I haven’t done very much writing. Why? I have been chasing a very active and independent little girl around. This isn’t an excuse…just a fact. I don’t usually sit down in front of the computer because there are lots of other things to do (like trying to get ready to leave the house). This morning is a surprise. I didn’t sleep well last night. I was exhausted by 9 p.m. We crawled into bed and all fell asleep fairly quickly. Then, starting at midnight I was just awake on and off. Finally, at 6 a.m. I just decided to get up. I snuck out of bed (somehow a little girl had climbed into my bed and was stealing all my pillows) without waking anyone up. Now, I’m here. Even though it’s early and even though I will probably regret not sleeping more later I’m glad to be writing.

No matter which way I spin it, I miss writing. I miss pouring out my thoughts onto paper and turning my jumbled mess of a mind into clear, articulate words. It’s the missing piece in my life. I need to try harder (Don’t we all?). I need to make time for myself, for my writing. It’s just so easy to put it all on the back burner. Whether you are a mother, a father, whether you work from home or out of the office, whether you love what you do or you don’t…it’s easy to push the passion aside.

There’s work to be done, there’s kids to be raised, there’s laundry and cleaning and cooking. It’s Saturday and it’s time to rake leaves or go grocery shopping. Oh, it’s bed time again. It’s time to get up and start all over. But, where does that leave you? The chapter you wanted to complete, that essay you’ve been meaning to submit, or like me that blog that keeps getting neglected. For me, it is the missing piece. It’s the thing I shouldn’t be pushing aside. Laundry can wait. During nap time I shouldn’t just look at Facebook or fold the clothes. I should take a quiet moment and write something.

So should you…

If it’s not writing, what’s your missing piece? Don’t let it be forgotten again today.

Leave a Reply

