Showing Kindness


I read an article today that said that relationships last when both partners show kindness to one another. It’s so simple, but so true. Showing the person you love that you appreciate them and you listen to them helps grow the relationship rather than letting it wither away.

I think this works in all aspects of life, not just the romantic relationship. We all need to show kindness to one another instead of negativity and spite. It would make the world a happier place. Since I’ve had Sophia I can tell that I often lack on patience, empathy, and kind words. Mostly it’s exhaustion, but I tend to react negatively or with an attitude instead of listening and not taking EVERYTHING as a personal insult to me. I’d like that to change. For those who know me, I’m usually a happy, outgoing, compassionate person. I’d rather give and see people around me happy than do something for myself.

So what’s the problem? The problem is that I’ve lost some of that spark. I’ve neglected to take care of myself physically, spiritually, and emotionally  in a lot of ways which in turn has made me kind of a grumpy girl. Reading the article about the Masters of Love has reminded me that it is so much easier to be kind. Holding on to negative, grumpy, or resentful feelings really hurts YOU the most. So I am making a vow today, to take care of myself, get some rest, and speak with kindness first instead of vitriol. The world has enough nastiness in it. I don’t need to add to it with an attitude ;).

Thankfully, my loving husband hasn’t sent me out to live with the wolves. I’m glad he is keeping me! I am still working on chapters from my book. I have also been job searching. It seems like I could get a part time job and still have precious time with my Sophie bug. She is growing way too fast! I guess this is the part where I say “just keep swimming!”

Shout out to all parent friends-You are doing a great job, I know you are all tired and probably grumpy like me, but I’m proud of you! Special shout out to my girl in Kentucky, thanks for always being my sounding board when I’m too grumpy to make sense!

xo

Aly

Leave a Reply

