Lighthouse in the Storm


This week has been pretty stressful for me, I was working on perfecting my article, trying to get school work done and not let my anxiety overwhelm me. Unfortunately, at times I do let myself get overwhelmed so it ended up not being a pleasant few days for me. Through it all, my husband has kept me sane and happy. I consider myself lucky to have a best friend and an equal partner in my marriage. I’ve probably told the story 1000 times, but I’ll tell it again for good measure.

We met through a phone call. I answered the phone of a mutual friend of ours and he was on the other end of the line. Later, I messaged him on Facebook to apologize for hijacking his phone call and to introduce myself.  We exchanged phone numbers and began talking every day on the phone and Skype. Whether it was fates or coincidence or just plain luck, this was it for me. Three weeks after that first fateful conversation, Richie drove 8 hours to my front door. I was so excited when he pulled up that I didn’t speak and then tackled him in a bear hug. As cheesy as it sounds, I met my best friend and soul mate in person that day. That same weekend, glossing over the embarrassing details, I told him (after a few glasses of wine) that we would be married and have beautiful blonde haired, blue eyed, tan skin babies. Although, he thought I was slightly crazy, something must have sounded right about that because we spent the next four months traveling between North Carolina and Maryland before I packed up and moved there to be with him. Within a month, we were married and preparing to move to Japan. Now, almost three years later, he is still my best friend, soul mate, rock and light in all my stormy days. And, one of the best parts so far is that we are about to have our own (possibly blonde haired, blue eyed tan skin) baby who will be the most loved and adored child and who every day will know what it means to love because of her mommy and daddy.  Those who know me know that I am full of passion, craziness, anxiety, care and often have a million things going at once, but that’s okay because Richie loves me for that and encourages me to be myself. He also holds me when I’m weak, comforts me when I’m sad and celebrates me when I’m happy and all the things in between.

I may not say it enough darling, but you save me….every single day. Thank you for being you and thank you for keeping me grounded and most of all, thank you for the life you have given us, the future we have yet to encounter and our little miracle. I love you forever and always. A million mer days.

Photo Credit: SCN Photography

Photo Credit: SCN Photography

Photo Credit: SCN Photography

Our First Wedding Anniversary

2 thoughts on “Lighthouse in the Storm

  1. Derek (Vincent) Cummings says:

    Nice post. I can relate to how busy you are in regards to work, school and writing. Hope all is well. I thought the post was written well. Can’t go to wrong when you are putting your emotions in it. I have a blog on WordPress too. You can find it in your follow stats or below.

    • Alyson Marie says:

      Thanks 🙂 I always seem to feel best about my writing when I really mean what I say and share my feelings. I’ve followed your blog and Facebook page. Happy Writing!

Leave a Reply

