Living and Learning


As promised, I said I would try to write blogs more often…every day if I can manage it or at least every week. Today was an interesting day at work, lots of learning going on. First, I had a long discussion with the graphic artist/designer who will be designing the layout for my next and possibly last feature article before the baby comes. It is a cooking feature and I am thankful that I have had some wonderful help on this. Two people from our office helped with all the preparation and cooking (they are Okinawan so it was a great help to have someone who actually knew and practiced cooking Okinawan dishes) and our artist who did a lot of the food styling and laying out for the photo shoot and of course our photographer! I would have been so lost had I not had such wonderful help. Anyway, we were discussing my article and I realized I learn so much when working with a team. Each person has something great to contribute and teaches me in so many ways. I think this article will be awesome.

Later, in the afternoon we had a training session in photography and learned about how to use our camera with manual settings and what many of those settings mean. It was very interesting because I can’t say I have ever shot on manual settings except in college for journalism and I wasn’t very good at it. I learned a lot and I feel like I’d be more confident taking pictures and trying new things to get a decent picture rather than sticking with auto mode all the time.

Lastly, I have learned so many baby things in the past few weeks. It’s a challenge to decide what we will need in the first six months because we will be PCS ing back to the States and don’t need everything here that early. All of the big furniture, cribs, dressers, high chairs will all go to Mom’s or wait to be bought until we get home. The necessities like the stroller, car seat, pack and play and bassinet with all come to our house here…I mean the bug has to sleep somewhere ;-). Of course, any clothes, bottles, blankets and all will come here so she will be pampered and comfortable. I’m excited and happy that we are able to pamper our little one and spend time with her without me having to go into work every day at least while she is in the first few months of her life.

I’m glad that I’m alive and learning new things each day….pregnancy has been a challenge for me because I haven’t felt great, but I’m excited know our daughter (EEEE!!) will be here in less than 5 months!

One thought on “Living and Learning

Leave a Reply

