Time after Time


If you are anything like me you were singing this song in a Cyndi Lauper voice….but that is off topic. What I really want to write about is “time” and how it seems to go by in the blink of an eye. It’s odd because there are always 24 hours in a day. It’s not as if time actually speeds up, there are always the same amount of days in the year.

But the older you get, the more you realize that time is not on your side. It is quickly moving behind you in unstoppable motion and the only thing you can do is enjoy it while it lasts. I’ll be 25 this year. It doesn’t seem so bad in the scheme of things, I still have a long way to go, but compared to 5 or even 15…

Two and a half years ago, I met my soulmate, my future, my best friend. Two years ago (and I can honestly say have been the best two years *and a half* of my life) I decided to move to North Carolina to be with my Marine, my Richie, the man who swept me off my feet. Now, it’s like I’ve closed my eyes for a minute and here we are planning our return to the States in a year. Where does time go? It’s not always been easy and there have been times I thought the homesick feeling would break me, but it blows my mind that our time in living in NC is long over and our time in Okinawa is coming to a close. We are more than half way done.

I can only say that I’m beyond blessed to have my wonderful husband by my side. In a year, he and I will be packing and moving (again) to find our next place in the world. There isn’t anyone I’d rather share this journey with. Now if only time would really speed up so he can be home with me, instead of out in the world. I love you, Richie.

2 thoughts on “Time after Time

  1. Butler, Brenda J. says:

    Indeed, I heard Cyndi in my head! All your fault!

    I’ve thought about this many “times” myself… 😉 I think it’s that we don’t EXPERIENCE time: we experience emotion. So when the emotion we experience in a given time is pleasurable, we want more, we want it to last longer. Conversely, when the emotion is unpleasant, we want it to be over with; it cannot end soon enough, so time seems slow.

    What’s interesting to me is that there seems to be a third state—maybe one that is more or less devoid of emotion. Because, what about when you’re busy at work at suddenly the whole day has passed? If you felt stressed or rushed, that realization (at the end of the day) may be disheartening, but if you felt like you accomplished much or made great progress, you may feel great about the day. In either of those cases, though, your experience during the day itself was not really based on emotion—just that your brain was engaged in activity that kept you too busy to gauge how you were feeling about this use of your time…

    I don’t know. If I haven’t gotten too abstract, maybe that’s something you can ponder—and then offer your insight. Or, LOL, maybe it’s just a mystery we’ll have to get MUCH older to understand!!

    Love you!
    ~Brenda

  2. Alyson Marie says:

    Yes, Brenda. I think that is something we sort of forget about. They say that time flies when you are having fun, but it can also fly when you have to get something done and there doesn’t seem to be enough hours in the day. I wish that was the feeling for me right now, but the every day motion (or emotion) is very slow and disenchanting while waiting for my hubby to return.

    I wonder what the phenomenom is that can make a single day drag by for ever, but then you blink and it’s three months later? Ask me again in three months and I’ll see if I have figured it out. Example, my trip home. I spent MONTHS planning it, prepping for it and then it arrived and was gone before I even knew what happened. It’s even been two weeks since I left the States already.

    I love you too….send some good vibes my way that I get so busy that I lose track of time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

