Full of Thoughts ….Thought-Ful


 My normal routine consists of checking Facebook a lot to make sure I am up to date on the going ons of my friends and family. I came across a link that said, “15 Helpful Thoughts and Observations for everyone in their 20s.” And I said to myself, “that’s me! I’m in my 20s.” So of course I clicked on it. I actually found it entertaining and helpful. (The bold quotes are from the article).

4. Disliking everything is truly not a good look. Nobody is above occasional moodiness, but if you’re constantly being a giant ball of negative energy, you’ll find yourself being invited out less and avoided more. As a spectator on the outside, it appears remarkably miserable that someone consistently maintains such an unhappy state of mind on a daily basis.

11. It’s not uncommon for this to be the decade in your life that sees the most failures and downfalls. Remain strong and don’t be shocked when things go awry. We’re experimenting, learning about ourselves, figuring out as much as we can about life and trying to prepare for the future simultaneously. That’s a hefty supply of tasks for one person, but we should feel lucky to have any of the opportunities we’re given.
 

There were also some funny ones about having to pee after you have been drinking and buying all new things when you move to a new house. The thing I liked most about this article was that it didn’t try be something it is not. It just told the truth and was extremely insightful. It reminded me not to take life so seriously. So I decided to write a list of my own thoughts … which I’m calling, you guessed it, “thought-ful”

 
Thought-Ful
1. Most days I don’t feel my age. When I’m sick, I feel 9 and I want my mom to come take care of me. When my husband leaves, I feel 16 with a broken heart eating chocolates and hugging my stuffed owl. When the car breaks down, and I’m late for work and I just want to go back to bed, I feel twice my age with no energy. On the best days, I feel 24 when I can kiss my husband or share a bottle of wine with my girlfriends and life is nothing, but joy. Those are my favorite days.
 
2. Our minds are mysterious places. I will be driving and I’ll think of something out of the blue and then I’ll try to remember every detail of that event. Sometimes my anxiety sneaks up on me and I’m sure I’ll get lost forever. I could be thinking of nothing and then I’ll start daydreaming about vacation or Richie or winning the lottery. It’s just random. I never know what I might think of next.
 
3. I’m a writer and that means my imagination runs away with me sometimes. My Uncle used to say that he could see me being all “melancholy” wearing black clothes and writing furiously away on some tragic novel. Some days writing is like that. All my words come out tinged with sadness. Other days though-other days writing is perfect. Everything is beautiful and everything is filled with passion. Most days its in between. For every up there is a down, for every tear there is a kiss. That’s why I like it.
 
4.  Everyone should read more books. Reading takes me away. You know why people go to the movies? To escape from reality…to enter a different life for a few hours. That’s why I love to read. It saves me some days, it breaks me… it gives me a whole new view on life. Maybe that’s why I’ve always loved to read. When life was too boring, too sad, too serious I could read and find everything I was looking for on the pages. I think that’s why I like writing. I want to share that with other people.   I read a quote the other day it said:
 
A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The man who never reads lives only one.

5. There is not always going to be good days. In fact, your mood might change from hour to hour. There are only good moments. Brief, fleeting heart soaring moments and we should cherish them.  I tend to let myself get broken down. When I’m sad or scared or stressed, I let that darkness envelop me and start to lose “me.” I’m trying really hard not to do that anymore. It isn’t always easy (especially living in a foreign country so far from home), but I don’t want to be sad.

6. Smile at everyone. It is proven that smiling not only makes you feel better, but it causes other people to smile-in turn making them feel better. Today, I smiled at the gate guard and he waved as I drove through. Sometimes all we need is a little human interaction to remind us we aren’t alone-what better way than to smile. It brightens the world.

7. Prayer is important. It doesn’t matter what Deity you believe in. It doesn’t matter who is “right” or “wrong.” But sometimes all you need is a little faith. I don’t always make it to Church. I don’t read my Bible every day. I know sometimes I am rash and judgemental, but prayer is important. I try to pray for guidance and strength to handle whatever life throws at me.

8. Don’t starve yourself to be “healthy.” Sometimes I go on these rampages where I cut out all “comfort” foods and I’m starving myself from everything I like to eat and snack on. It’s okay to have some ice cream or splurge on a dinner out at a restaurant. Just don’t over do it. Moderation really is the key. It’s something I’m trying to learn.

9. I need to stress less. If you don’t know me, you might not know that I check my stove like seven times to make sure it is turned off. Or that I worry about hurting people’s feelings or getting lost. It’s important to be considerate of course, but not to make yourself sick over things. Life is too short to sit in the corner and worry.

10. Make friends. Surround yourself with happy, positive people who really care about you and want you around. Love your friends and family. It’s the only thing that is going to matter when you are looking back on your life.

Those are my thoughts today … I can only sum it up as be positive, forget about the things that bring you down and love with everything you have. I’ll be working on these things myself.

One thought on “Full of Thoughts ….Thought-Ful

Leave a Reply

