Missing Home Part 4


Missing Home

I sweated every day throughout that first summer. I was still absolutely positive I would die before the weather ever cooled down or I made any friends. Lucky for me, I met Sarah and didn’t have to sit alone in the house for 12 hours a day.  She came to say hello with her husband and her little blonde son in tow.

“Hey new neighbors!”

“Hi, I’m Aly and this is Richie.”

“I’m Sarah and this is Dereck and this is Marshall.”

She leaned down and whispered in Marshall’s ear.

“Want to come to my birthday?” he asked shyly.

I said yes, maybe a little too quickly but I was desperate for some friends. I had only met one of our neighbors so far and I was starving for some social interaction.  To keep me company, we adopted a little white puppy named Shisha.  Her owners were getting rid of her and, for some reason, I just couldn’t let her go.  She is named after the Japanese word for “lion-dog,” and I was glad that she loved us.

For the next four months, I spent my days hanging out with Shisha, Sarah and Marshall, and my nights clinging to my husband, trying to cure the homesickness that continued to creep up on me. After the fifth month, I got a job writing for the Marine Corps Community Services Marketing Department.  I had a car, a job, a puppy and really awesome friends. I was set.

Which is why it’s hard for me to understand why I’m sitting here crying my eyes out today.  I got up early before church so that I could Skype with my family during my Nana’s Christmas Party. They have one every year and this is the first one I’ve missed … well, ever. I called my mom and told her to turn the computer on so I could see everyone. I waved as they blew kisses and smiled.

“We love you guys! We miss you,” they chanted.

“I love you too! I miss you so much,” I replied back even though no one could hear me over the noise of the party.

I knew I was losing it when my mom carried the laptop into the bedroom where it was quiet.

“I just miss you so much. I’m sorry,” she cried, her voice full of pain.

“I miss you too, Momma. Please don’t cry,” I pleaded with her.

Tears dripped down the tip of my nose, and I bit my cheeks to keep from wailing. I choked back painfully sad sobs as she carried the laptop back out to the party. I was holding it together until my baby brother, Michael, walked into the frame. I watched him graduate from kindergarten, then middle school and high school, and here he is now, working on his second year of college. Where did the time go?

My head is starting to hurt now. I’ve reached the point of no return where crying is unleashed and no amount of consoling will stop it.

“Don’t cry, Sis,” Michael says into the computer, “It’s going to be all right.”

I can’t answer him because I’ve completely lost it.  I want to call out for Richie, who is sleeping in the other room, but it takes too much energy to try to wake him up. I miss my mom and brother so much that it feels like my heart is breaking.

“Hi, Best Friend,” a voice says and I see Joe on the other side of the screen. I’m glad he’s there but it doesn’t help.

“Is she crying?” I can hear my cousin in the background.

I feel like I can’t recover at all now. I want to tell everyone that I’m just an emotional sap, but I can’t breathe long enough to get the words out. 

Then I hear him, my saving grace,

“Baby, are you ok?”

Richie comes out of the bedroom, scoops me up into a bear hug, and kisses me all over my face.  

“It’s ok. Don’t be sad. I’m here,” he tells me.

I laugh and I take a deep breath.

“I’m alright now.”

By Alyson T

*The End. Let me know what you guys think about it :)*

One thought on “Missing Home Part 4

Leave a Reply

