Welcome Home Marines


Today, is a good day. Our dear friends in North Carolina, Richie’s brothers from his previous unit at Camp Lejeune have returned home from Afghanistan! I am so happy for them and for their wives (and families) that I know have been patiently and not so patiently awaiting their return! It’s been seven long months but they are finally back and it truly brings joy to my heart. I really couldn’t be happier knowing that these wonderful guys who stood at our wedding are home where they belong! Welcome Home Marines, we are so proud!

Today is also special to me because it is my husband’s 22 birthday!!! Richie is one of the most wonderful people I know and deserves all the love in the world (and I plan to not let him out of my sight once he gets back home … at least for the weekend). Happy Birthday my darling, we love you and we miss you. I am so glad that God brought us together and I am so lucky to have you in my life! I am also very proud of the work he has been doing in Thailand.

It’s been 8 months since we landed on Okinawa and some days it seems like time is flying by. I’m halfway through my first Master’s class already (I should be writing my paper but I’m writing this post instead).  I’m also almost a third of the way done with our tour here. (Our anniversary is next month! Married for a year <3. ) In four months, we will already been one year down.  I’ve been busy with work, writing and editing, I know that I am meant to be a writer but some days wouldn’t it be nice to be rich? Not have to work, or have any responsibility … I’d have a chef, a house keeper, a driver and a stylist/personal shopper.  I think that covers it!  Maybe one day I’ll write that great American novel and we can have all those things anyway? 🙂

xo

One thought on “Welcome Home Marines

Leave a Reply

