Do Not Be Afraid


Don’t be afraid, for I am with you.  Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you.  I will hold you up with my victorious right hand. – Isaiah 41:10
I think that many Marine wives (I know I do) use the power of prayer.  There is a lot of praying for their Marines to go safely, stay safe, and come home safely; I know because I pray for all of these things … all the time. Many people don’t realize there are a lot of prayers asking (read: begging, pleading, crying) God to pull us through the darkness.  This short month-long separation is coming to an end for me and I spent a lot of time praying for strength.  I let sadness and anxiety creep up and overwhelm me and drag me down; for three days I did nothing but worry and miss my husband.  I cried even when he called me because I was hurting. Then, I spent some time asking God to please help me find peace and guide me through my anxiety. And you know what? It worked. I felt better-more relaxed and confident that I would be ok.  I talked to my partner in crime, Sarah, and I told her I was feeling a lot better and she said, “Good. I was praying for you.” God was listening. He heard my pleas and he gave me the things I needed. He didn’t bring Richie home, He didn’t send someone to feel sorry for. No, God sent me strength and confidence to help me carry on.
 
 It seems silly now to have lost days over sadness but sometimes this life is hard. Sometimes, you don’t feel optimistic or happy. I really believe in the power of prayer and I continue to Thank God for the strength he supports me with and the faith that my husband will be home soon.  I also Thank God for bringing our friends through this last deployment and now the end is in sight. I pray for strength for those Marines, and the ones who have patiently waited for them, to face this last stretch, until these wonderful men are returned home to their wives and their families.  I know that will be an amazing day!!!!!
 
I am just trying to put my faith and trust in God and not be afraid. Being a Marine’s wife means facing unknowns all the time, standing up tall and continuing to march on.  Well, I’m marching … let’s just hope I can march right through these next two years with a smile on my face.  
 
4 thoughts on “Do Not Be Afraid

  1. Ali J says:

    I love you friend! and I’m always praying for you, even when we’ve gone days without talking… P.S. I love Richie’s comment =)

  2. Brenda says:

    This reminds me of Luke 2:52 (NIV)
    “And Jesus grew in wisdom and stature, and in favor with God and men.”

    This verse covers everything we know about Jesus from age 13 to 30. And your post is such solid evidence that YOU are growing, too–in wisdom, in courage, and in maturity with God and man. I’m so proud to know you… You are so much stronger than you know.

    Much love, little bird. We eagerly but patiently await your flight home.
    ~B

  3. Alyson Marie says:

    To my dearest husband, I will smile every day because you are in my life.

    Ali and Brenda, Thank you for being such wonderful friends to me! 🙂 Time will hopefully fly by on this adventure.

Leave a Reply

