You’re there, and I’m here and there doesn’t know how lucky it is …


Good Morning friends, well good evening to those of you in the States! I’m sitting in my living room, waiting for the mechanic to call and tell me I can pick up Richie’s car today before I go to work. I should be sleeping but apparently my mind does not like to sleep and I wake up every hour and at the crack of dawn on a day that I could have slept in. My mom would be so proud of me, I’m cleaning the house, walking the dog, going to work every morning … it’s not easy when you’d rather go to bed and not wake up for a month. The car needs new tires-check, it’s due for Japanese Compulsory Inspection this month-check, pay the bills, mow the lawn, fix the four broken lights and do it all with a smile. Can you believe that people actually expect me to be pleasant and happy while I feel like a part of me is missing ?…well yeah, me either but they actually do.  Anyway, I never realized how hard it is to do every day things without your other half. I need to take the car to the mechanic, Richie could pick me up. The ceiling lights are all broken, you can be damn sure he would be the one helping to fix them since I can’t reach. It’s not hard tasks but its weird how you get used to someone being there with you for support, I miss him.

I’m lucky to have such good friends here on island that help me out all the time and I have crazy admiration for my partner in crime, who has to do all the stuff I said before PLUS be mommy and daddy to a beautiful little boy while her hubs is away. She’s like a superhero. <3. I love you Sarah.

This is it folks, the low down on what its like to be a Marine Wife (or any military wife) a lot of see you laters, waiting and wishing. And the damndest thing is … I’m going to get up, get ready for work, walk my dog … get the car, fix the lights and  I will do it all with a smile on my face because somewhere in Asia my husband is working 24 hour shifts, training and doing his job without complaint AND somewhere across the world from him, his best friends have spent half a year in the desert-fighting for my RIGHT to write this blog, and if they can do it … I can certainly smile.

So proud. I love you, Richie bug … come home soon.

Leave a Reply

