A Little American Girl on a Little Japanese Island


Ok, Ok, I’m not that little but I have lost twelve pounds!  My weight loss and exercise journey is going well. I’m definitely not as hungry as I used to be (or maybe I’m just eating more fulfilling foods).  I’ve lost 12 pounds since I started trying. I would like to lose about 15 more to be completely satisfied.  I’ve also started taking up Zumba again. I hope this will give me more energy! I know I have been gone so long! It’s easy to get away from writing when I can distract myself with Facebook, Law and Order SVU and my cute puppy dog.  Everything is finally back in order here now that my husband is home!  I guess that is where I will start.

Richie left on September 24 and was in Virginia (90 minutes from Mom’s house and 3 hours from Wilmington, so unfair, am I right?) for a class (about computers or something…he’s the smart one in this house). I was a very sad wife, left all alone in my little apartment but I was able to Skype with him twice a day. Then, about a week after he left, our friends, Brandy and Alex, arrived in Okinawa from Camp Lejeune! I was so happy that they were finally here (took ’em long enough).  I spent most of the first two weeks that they were here (in the hotel) hanging out with them and showing them around the island. We got Sushi and went to the E-Club and braved the Commissary on Pay Day weekend!  During the day while Alex was checking in, Brandy and I would hang out.  They finally got a nice house on Kadena (She is prior Air Force so it’s nice but he is a Marine so it’s kind of funny too).  I went over there yesterday as she was trying to sort out all of her boxes. I don’t think I was very much help.

I also hung out with my P.I.C Sarah and Marshall.  We had a Thirty-One Gifts  Party (purse party!)  It was a lot of fun and we had little meatballs and mimosas (not so little).  Sarah and Dereck also had me over for dinner so that I didn’t starve while Richie was away! We got our Halloween Costumes and organized plans for our Halloween Party!  Then Alysha (the most amazing contact paper installer EVER) helped me line my counters so that they look like marble instead of bleh. I love them every time I go into my kitchen! I didn’t do alot of exploring while hubs was gone because I just hung out with Shisha and we missed him. We celebrated our one year of dating/meeting anniversary on October 9th. I can’t believe it’s been a whole year since I met my soul mate. It seems so much longer but at the same time it could have been yesterday! After three long and torturous weeks, he finally returned to me!  It was probably the only time that he was ever excited to come BACK to Okinawa.   P.I.C and I made him wonderful welcome home signs. We hung one up at the house and I took one to the airport with me. He felt very special. (I cut my foot open on the door at the airport).  I know that he is still extremely jet lagged because he fell asleep before the brownies were even out of the oven after dinner!  (Don’t worry, I saved him some).

We have a busy few months ahead of us here on Okinawa and for that I am grateful.  As of October 18th Richie and I have been married for 7 months already. (Oh, how time flies!)  I applied for a job almost a month ago but haven’t heard anything back yet. Friday night is Date Night! My Richie is taking me on a date somewhere nice, just the two of us. I’m very excited and have no idea where we  are going to go! This Saturday the girls and I are going to take Zumba again! Then, I am going to Erin’s baby shower in the afternoon. After, the baby shower Sarah, Dereck, Brandy, Alex, Richie and I are going to take the Haunted Sites Tour, where we go around all of the “haunted” places on Okinawa. I’m hoping it’s not really scary because I don’t do well with scary!  Maybe we will go out afterwards and explore some of the nightlife on Oki. Sunday morning, of course, is breakfast at the Rocker. Can’t beat it.  Then the 29th (I hope Brandy, Alysha and Liz are ready for it!) we are doing 3 hour Zumba! I’m a little nervous because I’ve never done more than one hour of Zumba and I’m always exhausted afterwards!  I think it will be really fun though.

As for me, I’m doing alright. I’m so happy that Richie’s back but I miss being in America every day. I don’t hate it here but I really don’t love it here.  I’m pretty pleased with my weight loss progress, I hope to lose maybe 3 more lbs before Halloween (I’m being Bo Peep, Richie is Woody and Shisha is my little sheep). Then I have the Marine Corps Ball! My dress (College Prom 2010) is still amazing and I already have my hair and nail appointment set!   Richie Lee applied for some leave in November so we can just hide out and be together. That will be nice. Then our First Christmas as a married couple! My favorite part is going to be decorating our tree. Even on my sad days, I am blessed that Richie and I get to spend our first few years as a married couple together, we get to build our relationship on the strength of one another without the distraction of  being in America surrounded by home comforts.  I’m glad for that.

Hopefully I will write more,  maybe someone needs to send me a reminder in case I forget! It’s not that I don’t have things to write about either. Every day here is an adventure, I just have to make sure I write it down.

2 thoughts on “A Little American Girl on a Little Japanese Island

  1. Brenda says:

    “Even on my sad days, I am blessed that Richie and I get to spend our first few years as a married couple together, we get to build our relationship on the strength of one another without the distraction of being in America surrounded by home comforts.”

    Such a smart, beautiful girl…

Leave a Reply

