The Cooking Styles of This Marine Wife


Hello All, the Gourmet Magnificent, Amazing Chef BoyAr Turner here! Hahaha. Ok so I’m not that amazing but I am pretty damn proud of myself for the cooking I have been doing lately. Richie and I are going on a more healthy, lower calorie, lower cholesterol diet! He recently found out that his cholesterol levels are high and I want to lose a few pounds so here we are.  We have cut out sodas and sugary snacks in our home. (Hello, sugar free popsicles and string cheese!)  I have thrown out anything that had low nutrition value including things that were high in cholesterol (he needs to keep his to a max of 200 mg daily).  We  have also decided to do a trial run of protein shake meal replacement (2 shakes a day, only 10 mg of cholesterol each, only 300 calories each) and two to three healthy snacks in between meals a day (fruit, veggies) and a sensible dinner meal of 500-600 calories.  Richie is less concerned with the calories because he can eat 2200 a day and still lose 2 lbs a week.  He needs to worry about the extra fats, cholesterol, sodium and high sugars.  I on the other hand am trying to stick to a 1200 calorie a day diet, including two protein shakes, one dinner and fruit and veggie snacks .  Its difficult but if I can stick to this (including walks and exercise as well) I can lose about 1.5 lbs a week as well as learn to portion my meals.  If I could lose 8 lbs on this first trial run so over a period of 6 or 7 weeks (starting last friday July 29), I think that would be amazing.  I’m in no rush but I do know that over the last two years I have gained 15 lbs and I don’t want that trend to continue.  So my goal during the day (until I get a job) is to find great recipes for sensible, healthy (and tasty) dinners.

Last week, I made angel hair pasta tossed in olive oil (olive oil is good for lowering cholesterol!) with boneless, skinless chicken breasts marinated in Light Northern Italian Dressing. It was amazing and it was probably only 600 calories for a serving of pasta and a chicken breast. We also stick to whole wheat pastas and whole wheat bread.  I also made sirloin steaks marinated in brown sugar bourbon seasoning one night. Last night I made beef and broccoli and it truly tasted just like take out.  I used Lawson’s Asian beef and broccoli seasoning, one tablespoon of soy sauce (the recipe calls for two tablespoons but that’s a lot of sodium) and water for the sauce in a skillet with four cups or one large stalk of broccoli and almost a pound of sirloin tip steak cut into small slices.   Each serving was 482 calories! It filled a large bowl.  We didn’t even make rice or anything because we figured we would be too full and we were.  I was excited for how good it turned out!  Tonight, I am going to make Zesty Herb Chicken with mashed potatoes for dinner! yum.   I hope that I can stick to this so when I finally cut down to one shake a day, I will have learned how to cut back on mindless snacking and overeating because I’m bored. Wish me luck!

2 thoughts on “The Cooking Styles of This Marine Wife

  1. Rosie says:

    Divide your plate mentally into 1/3 protein 1/3 starches/carbs and 1/2 veggies. this is what the dietician said should be everyone’s portion goals.
    Check out the SparkPeople.com website. You can track what you eat and it will calculate each meal, snack and the whole days calores. It also has a recipe section where you can specify exactly what you are looking for and for what meal. That’s how I lost the 25lbs. Check it out.
    You can both do it more easily now while you are young….didn’t believe that until I try to lose now. Love you! Missing you lots!

Leave a Reply

