War Is An Ugly Thing, But Not The Ugliest of Things


War is an ugly thing, but not the ugliest of things. The decayed and degraded state of moral and patriotic feeling which thinks that nothing is worth war is much worse. The person who has nothing for which he is willing to fight, nothing which is more important than his own personal safety, is a miserable creature and has no chance of being free unless made and kept so by the exertions of better men than himself. John Stewart Mill

Today in Japan, I am sad and proud at the same time.  Some of our closest, dearest friends are heading back overseas to continue to defend our great nation and all of the freedoms we enjoy.  These Marines are some of the greatest people I have ever had the pleasure of knowing.  They are brave, and honorable but when you say so they tell you that they are just doing their job.  The amazing thing about this is that Marines and all of our military are doing a job that others refuse to do. They are sacrificing their lives, they are away from their families and the places that they call home.  They are not the first nor are they the last who will step up and accept the call to defend our freedom but they do so with courage and honor. I’m so privileged to be a part of this life where others will stand up for me, my home, my family even if they don’t know me.

I grew up in a land of privilege with rights that were given to us, to every person who was a citizen but these rights were earned for us by others.  I never feared that I could be jailed for saying the wrong words. I never feared that I could be beaten for going outside of my home without my father or brother or other male relative to chaperone me….I never had any fears like that at all. I’m not lucky, I am blessed and I am grateful. As a Marine Wife, as a citizen and as a friend.

I know my husband is having a harder time because while we are here in West Pac, his brothers are heading back over and he isn’t going with them this time. As grateful as I am that he is with me, I know that he wishes he could be in two places at once.  All I can offer is my thanks and my love. Thank you for your service and for your friendship. Thank you to my dear husband, who was defending my freedom before we ever met <3. Thank you to Garrett for everything, especially introducing me to my soul mate. Thank you Kyle for being one of Richie’s best friends and Thank you to his awesome wife, Mash without her I’d be completely lost. Thank You to Reverend Ben and the Church of Awesome and our wonderful photographer Allie. Thank you to everyone else who is heading out with them as well. Everything you do is appreciated. Thank you to our military, and to their families who patiently wait for them to return.

❤ you and we’ll see you soon.

Leave a Reply

