Getting Back Into The Swing of Things


So on this rainy, yet beautiful day in Okinawa I am getting back into the swing of things, especially going to the gym.  Richie and I went grocery shopping and filled up the refrigerator and pantry (we forgot the coupons, I was very angry).  I bought protein shakes. I’m going to try to go to the gym every day! and have a protein shake instead of breakfast or lunch and see if that helps me lose a couple of pounds. It’s not that I don’t like my body or my weight (although my stomach could use a little work) but I am not that athletic and I have a small frame. Each extra pound weighs me down and makes it more difficult for me (with my CP and tight leg muscles) to keep up with daily activities like going for a long walk or standing on my feet for hours at a time. As I’m writing this I can hear my mom saying, “That’s what I’ve been telling you all along!” (You are right, Momma I just hate to admit it).  So my extremely motivated friend Shannah has agreed to be my gym buddy seeing as she goes to the gym twice a day now that she has a month off work.

We got to the gym at 8:15am and were dismayed to see the street was blocked off and the parking lot was closed (There was a ceremony going on in the basketball gym).  Shannah being a quick thinker drove around base and parked in the barracks parking lot and we walked to the gym.  (Take that closed parking lot!) I was extremely proud of myself for doing 45 mins on the elliptical, working up to a  level 10 resistance and then I did five minutes on the stair climber until it felt like my legs were going to fall off.  After a good stretch and a full bottle of water I felt exhausted accomplished. I hope that I can keep this up because going to the gym will keep me from falling into that place where all you do is snack and nap (which is great for vacation! not so much for everyday life).   I had a protein shake for breakfast and then at one had a small lunch. So far so good! I’m trying to keep up on the water intake too, with the heat here that’s the one thing I have to do.

Now I am officially a gym goer. I made a bet with my mom that whoever can lose 8 lbs first, will get a present from the other person. I made a goal with myself that I would write an entry on this blog every single day. Not sure what my reward is for writing but it makes me feel good about myself and all that time I spent earning my degree so that’s an excellent reward all on its own.  My next official “getting into the swing of things” move will be decorating the house.  Even if I only spend a short amount of time each day doing my routine  I know I will feel less stressed and much more settled in our new home. Plus, with beach season all year round on the island I’ve gotta look good in a bathing suit!

Leave a Reply

