On My Way


I have been feeling a little really down lately.  I’ve decided its because I haven’t been working up to my full potential lately. That is all changing slowly but surely.  I have stepped up my training for my 5K. I only have a month left to prepare.

Yesterday, I walked/ran the 3.1 miles and I completed it in an hour. Now I just need to run it. I’m still struggling with my breathing. It’s pretty discouraging. Tonight I am going to go to the gym and do some strengthening and weights and hopefully work on my breathing.  I wrote my fundraising letter today….What do you think?

To My Friends, Loved Ones and Supporters:

In just one month, I am running my first 5K. I’d
like to tell you a little about why I am racing in the Iron Girl
Triathlon.  I’m completing this race in honor and memory of my father,
Mike Blimmel, who was diagnosed with colon cancer in 2004.  After
fighting this disease with all he had, my dad passed away in 2006. I
miss and love him each and every day. He gives me the inspiration and
motivation to run the 5k portion of the Iron Girl on a relay team.
Competing in this race is a way for me to help others who are battling
cancer and work to build awareness about healing and the mission of
Team Inspiration.

My aunt, Roseann Dougherty, is the founder of Team Inspiration. Team
Inspiration (www.teaminspiration.org) is an organization to help 
promote healing awareness for
those with cancer.  She has spent many years working towards a mission
of healing for those dealing with cancer and those who have beaten it.
It is our hope that through Team Inspiration and Iron Girl we can all
become more aware of the healing that is needed beyond chemo treatments
and medication. We also need to heal the mind and spirit along with the
body.

Through your donations and support, we will make a huge difference in
the lives of people living with cancer.  If you would like to make a
donation, you can write a check to Team Inspiration and send it to me.
The deadline for me to turn in donations is August 15. The sooner I can
collect contributions, the sooner Team Inspiration can put that money
to work. You will receive a receipt for your donation for your tax
purposes.

Thank you so much for your help. It means the world to me that you are
supporting me and all those whose lives have been touched by cancer.

Sincerely,

Aly Blimmel
Iron Girl Relay Runner

I'll write more this afternoon xo





Leave a Reply

