Define Passionate


pas·sion·ate

[pash-un-it] adj.

1.having, compelled by, or ruled by intense emotion or strong feeling; fervid. From Dictionary.com.

That sounds about right. I know this because next to the word passionate in the dictionary is a picture of yours truly.

Ok, maybe not but it could be.

Has you ever been asked to describe yourself in three words or less? On an application or at an interview?  You think to yourself, “How in the world do I describe myself? Well, I’m nice and responsible….ummm”.

It never seems to fit just right does it? I always had the same problem until I truly sat down and thought it over. I realized that no matter what, there is always something in my life that I feel passionate about.   That doesn’t mean that I run around fighting for worthy causes all the time or throwing myself into politics but it does mean that I feel strongly about many things.

Today I am passionate about this blog. I truly want it to do well.  Rarely, am I at a loss for words and keeping a blog not only makes is possible for me to share my words with the world but to keep up with something that makes me feel good. I spent a good half hour searching for the perfect photo for my header image.  I finally found one of my final project images from Photojournalism; one of my first by lines as an intern at Baltimore Magazine.

That photo still gives me a sense of pride that will never be replaced. It was one of those moments where you realize that your passion, isn’t just a silly dream or wishful thinking. I realized that the years of scribbling in journals, scrawling poetry across lined notebook paper and incessantly writing stories might actually become more of a reality.  I want to work in the magazine and publishing industry so much it hurts.  I want to have my own column that people follow. I want to share the things that I am passionate about with everyone else. I want to reach people, even if I only reach one.

love. trust. friendship. hope. happiness. peace.family.

These are thing things that I am most passionate about….what inspires you?

xo Aly

Leave a Reply

